Triloka—Three Realms

Composed by Bruno Råberg

Triloka refers to the threefold form of this piece. It has 3 distinct sections that are strung together. The first is a prologue that juggles several short motives, eventually finding it’s way into the main middle section. The main section simmers down and transforms into the third and final part, which is based on a Korvai calculation: a rhythmic structure based on expansion and diminution that is part of the main percussion solo in traditional Carnatic (South Indian) music.

Music, Bruno R. image, Garuda

Bruno Raberg –
Performance Studies
Berklee College of Music